Allez au contenu Allez à la navigation

Japiot Park and Pavilion

Japiot Park and Pavilion

The hundred-year-old Japiot Park and Pavilion were born as a result of the combined forces of the Meuse horticultural society and Mrs Japiot.

The gardens, designed by Nancy-born landscape architect Picoré, were created on an area of marshland, whilst another architect by the name of Chenevier was simultaneously building the Japiot Pavilion in the style of the great residences of the Belle Epoque period. The site was officially opened in 1909 and was named Japiot in tribute to the founder of the Meuse horticultural society and inspector of water and forests who died in 1905.

Japiot Pavilion

The park was created to provide a pleasant, charming place to stroll amid lush green surroundings. At a time when the nuisances of industrialisation, urbanisation and transport development were already making themselves felt, the towns and cities were seeking to incorporate ‘green lungs’ into their environments. The most widespread landscaping model of the time featured many winding pathways, water features and even areas for musical entertainment, among other things.

The estate was initially private property, until it was given to the City of Verdun on 11th July 1962.